Aimless Reflections on a New Beginning

The last week or so has been an interesting one. My brother and I spent the weekend with some family in Arizona, so it was good to reconnect with them. That was a weekend well-spent. And on the way back, I managed to catch the beautiful Rocky Mountains at sunset! It was hardly the most expansive view, since I was looking from an aisle seat, but it was a gratifying sight all the same.

This is why everyone loves Colorado.

With 2012 already here, barging into my living room and making itself at home, there is a sobering reminder of how quickly time passes. Money can always be replenished, and you can catch up with friends and family, but seconds and days and years pass by unheeded.

As the new year strides onward, questions related to that passage of time begin to crop up. What have you wanted to do, but never found the willpower or the energy to carry it out? Will your New Years resolutions stick? Are there any bad habits you can give up? How can you improve your relationships with others until the next glowing ball drops in Times Square?

For now, it’s probably best if I leave those questions alone, and you can answer them for yourself. At present, I still have no idea of the direction my life ought to go in, still don’t have much to say, and am still worried about (and paralyzed by) the sheer volume of tasks that I have to carry out. But for now, all I can do is lean on God’s grace, plunge ahead in spite of my fears, and hope for a bright ending to this next year.

Talk to you soon, everyone!

Leave a Reply

