Willingness to Learn

If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you.

If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you.

~ Unknown

For entirely too long, I have allowed myself to quit learning, quit innovating. And not surprisingly, creativity took a great blow, and it’s been a nightmare trying to formulate new ideas. I kept locking myself in what had come before, and then tried to shove myself forward.

No longer. I will let go of past frustrations, grudges, and disappointments. Instead I will grab ahold of the opportunities and promises of today and tomorrow. The only cure for living in the past is to move. The past cannot be helped. Only the future can still be molded.

Yeah, I know that sounds like a bumper sticker or obvious advice from the latest self-help book. Nevertheless, it is a fact that demands my attention. And I will do my best to adhere to it.

Never stop learning. Never pause to tell yourself you no longer have need for listening to others. Work tirelessly, vigilantly, to keep growing, to keep seeing new things. Allow yourself to be surprised by joy, delighted by greatness, and thrilled by the mystery of what lies beyond the next door.

Leave a Reply

