Flames Over Black Forest

I have been absent for a long while, and that is due in part to a fire that broke out in the Black Forest neighborhood. My home. I still remember standing in my driveway and feeling a flake of ash drift into my eye.

I could see the glow of flames from my house as we were evacuating.

I could see the glow of flames from my house as we were evacuating.

As I am writing this, the fire is 85% contained, but has done plenty of damage. It was human-caused, but we have no word yet as to whether it was accidental or deliberate. Two people were killed. It spread across 14,000 acres. Over 500 homes have burned, more than in any other fire in Colorado’s history.

WP_001115

Many of the places that have been a regular part of my life have been destroyed, while others still stand (fortunately, R&R Coffee is among those homes away from home that is still there). I myself had to be evacuated, but God be thanked, we are back in our house right now. Many of my friends weren’t so lucky, and they’ve lost their homes.

Kind of surreal seeing it so close to home.

Kind of surreal seeing it so close to home.

Please do keep your prayers with everyone who is still evacuated or has lost their home in the wake of this disaster.

There may have been a tremendous amount of damage wrought by these flames, but we will rebuild. Black Forest, CO is a wonderful community, and its spirit shall never be crushed. May God bless everyone, protect them, and lead them through this rough time.

A great deal of unexpected rain showed up over the next few days, and helped contain the fire. Thank you, God.

A great deal of unexpected rain showed up over the next few days, and helped contain the fire. Thank you, God.

If you want to help out or need some assistance, you can go here to learn more.

4 thoughts on “Flames Over Black Forest

Leave a Reply

