Two of My New Paintings

After a four year hiatus, I am finally taking up some painting, in addition to my sketches and writing. Thanks in no small part to Bob “Happy Trees” Ross and James Gurney of Dinotopia fame, I’ve been inspired to take up the brush once more. After some practice I’ll even start selling paintings, but for now I’m still experimenting.

The two projects I have at the moment are below. You can click to enlarge the pictures. Both are acrylics painted on thick card stock, 5 inches by 7 inches.

Trees and boulders. Not as good as I hoped for, but it's my first attempt for a long time. Hopefully I'll get better.

Trees and boulders. Not as good as I hoped for, but it’s my first attempt for a long time. Hopefully I’ll get better. Took about 3 hours to do.

A very incomplete picture of snow-draped peaks. Rather fitting, given the first snow of autumn showing up today.

A very incomplete picture of snow-draped peaks. Rather fitting, given the first snow of autumn showing up today. It will be completed soon. So far it has taken about 2.5 hours.

Hope you all have a wonderful day! 🙂

-John

Leave a Reply

