Selling Paintings at the Rocky Mountain Dinosaur Resource Center

This is first post I have written in a very long time, I’ll admit. I have some good news.

Not just good. Ecstatic.

A family member and I went up to the Rocky Mountain Dinosaur Resource Center in Woodland Park, CO this weekend. I took along a couple of paintings to show them, just in case they would consider carrying a few paintings in the gift shop.

Mated pair of Apatosaurus. Acrylic on wooden plaque, 3 x 5 inches.

Mated pair of Apatosaurus. Acrylic on wooden plaque, 3 x 5 inches. Sold to someone in Woodland Park.

Another wooden plaque with acrylics.

Another wooden plaque with acrylics.

As it turned out, they ended up liking the art so much (particularly the one showing the dinosaur silhouette), that they invited me to be a vendor to sell artwork at an event in early August, and at an arts and crafts festival in July 2015. And as a bonus, someone ended up buying the dinosaur painting mere minutes later!

I’ve pretty much been walking on air ever since. It’s a little daunting, since I have a lot of paintings to do before the first event. But this is the kick in the pants I needed to get this whole painting gig turned into a small business. I am so thankful that events were arranged in just the right way for this to happen, even ones that seemed like hindrances and delays.

There will be more art and writing coming to this blog soon. And I’ve got more stories to work on, as well. Have a great day, everyone!

-John

Leave a Reply

